How to... · Nunn Design · Product Focus · Swarovski

UV Resin Brooch with Crystals

I’m really enjoying working with the new brooches that Nunn Design released recently. The possibilities are endless! I was very happy with how this one turned out, and thought I would share a little tip with you on working crystals in with your resin brooches or pendants.

I created this one with Gel du Soleil UV Resin. Whether you choose to use the UV resin or a 2 part resin, my tip is the same: apply your resin into the bezel in layers, adding your crystals to the top/last layer of resin.

DSC08076

If you lay your crystals down into the bezels and fill it with resin, chances are your crystals will be swimming in resin and you generally don’t want that for a couple of reasons. For one, the facets of the crystal will disappear once submerged in the resin, ruining the sparkle effect. crystals look so much better when they are free, not submerged, sitting on top of the resin rather than covered in it. You get the full effect of the intricate cut and sparkle, as they were meant to be appreciated. Also, I have found from experience, that when I have tried to cover crystals or components in resin, that often times just a portion will be sticking up out of the resin (depending on what you are using of course), and not how you would like it to be.

My preferred method is to fill my bezel with layers of resin, one at a time, putting it under the light for 10-15 minutes, then adding the next, only adding my crystals to the top layer which I do not make very thick. When the bezels are deeper I tend to fill them with thin layers regardless, as it really seems to solve most of my ‘bubble issues’. When working with the UV resin, it cures so quickly under the light, that I can do 2 or 3 layers in one sitting, letting them cure one at a time before adding another one.

Regardless of how many layers I do or don’t do, when I have my bezel almost as full as I want it to be, I add one last thin layer of resin to lay my crystals down into. A toothpick makes a great tool to position them just how I want them before putting it under the UV lamp to cure. This way, your beautiful crystals are very secure in the resin, but their beauty is shining out as they were meant to!

Happy Creating!

Shelly

One thought on “UV Resin Brooch with Crystals

Leave a Reply

