Bellomodo Team Posts · Czech Glass · How to... · Necklaces · Product Focus · Swarovski · Vintaj Natural Brass

Swarovski Dragonfly Necklace

I have a thing for dragonflies. I feel like it kind of snuck up on me through making jewelry. Anytime I found a component to design with that was dragonfly related, I would scoop it up, and make something pretty. Now, very often when I am vending my jewelry at an event, I’ll have someone walk into my booth and say….”Wow, you really like dragonflies, don’t you?” So by now it’s obvious, as I have so many pieces highlighting dragonflies.

SDN

I’ve always thought they were mysteriously beautiful, like they are magical creatures from a long time past living with us now. They carry a lot of symbolism, and it seems that everyone holds onto one piece of their symbolism that resonates with them. The symbolism that resonates with me the most is that they spend most of their life as a nymph or immature, and the amount of time that they are a full grown dragonfly and able to fly is shorter. In this time, they live their life to the fullest, leaving nothing to be desired. This resonates with me in a strong way, and is how I try to live my life… fully!

Here is a great page with various examples of their symbolism: Symbolism/Meaning of a Dragonfly

There are also dragonfly stories, including several books to help children understand death and parents who’ve lost children. I met a woman while vending a show who lost her two children in an accident, and bought a necklace from me with a dragonfly on it, to remind her of them. She shared the story with me, and a teary eyed moment together, as she put her new necklace on. Here is a link to the story she shared with me, and why they were so special to her when she saw them : The waterbug/dragonfly story.

I have been wanting to make a necklace out of the dragonfly pendants for some time now. I love how this necklace turned out, and can imagine many more possibilities in designing with this beautiful crystal.

Materials:

Directions:

  1. Cut a piece of wire about 1.5” long. With your round nose pliers create a simple loop on one end. Slide on it a 4mm firepolish bead, the swarovski dragonfly pendant, and another 4mm firepolish bead. Create another simple loop, trimming any excess wire.
  2. Get out your six headpins. Put three beads on three of them, and two beads on three of them. Complete the drops by creating a simple loop at the top and trimming any excess wire.
  3. Using 8” of your chain, cut six pieces in various lengths from ½” to 2” long. Attach a firepolish bead drop to the end of each one. Open the simple loop at the bottom of your dragonfly pendant and slide your chain links on it, staggering the lengths, and close the simple loop. You should now have the ‘tassles’ hanging from the bottom of your pendant (as you see in the picture) and are ready to start on the necklace part.
  4. Cut eight pieces of wire about 1” long each. With your round nose pliers, make a simple loop on the end of each one. Slide one firepolish bead on each one, and then make a simple loop at the other end, trimming any excess wire to create eight links.
  5. Cut four pieces of chain, each 7” long. Take a jump-ring, and put the ends of two of your chains on a jump-ring along with the end of one of the links you created. Use three more jump-rings to continue adding three more links to this chain. When the fourth link is on, attach that one to the top loop of the dragonfly pendant. Repeat this with the other two links of chain and four bead links. You should now have both sides of your necklace complete.
  6. Take another jump-ring and use it to bring two of your chains together and attach your clasp to one end. Use your last jump-ring to bring together your two chains at the other end.

*My finished necklace with the above measurements, measures 19” in length. If you want yours to be shorter or longer, simply adjust your chain length.

Do you feel drawn to dragonflies? What do they symbolize for you? Please feel free to share with us in the comments below!

Happy creating!

Shelly

SDN2

3 thoughts on “Swarovski Dragonfly Necklace

  1. I actually have a fascination with fireflies ~or lightnin’bugs where I come from 🙂 but I developed a relationship with dragonflies when I started making them as jewelry. I acquired quite a following for my little beaded dragonflies, but I never knew why..thank you for enlightening me about their symbolism. I had a very special customer request one made for each of her daughters & granddaughters in memory of her mother who had recently passed. I understand now why she chose my dragonflies. I felt blessed to be the creator of those small little memory trinkets. You can see a few of them on my website
    http://fireflybeads.weebly.com/ ( in case your curious) 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

