Bellomodo Team Posts · Buttons · Earrings · How to... · Nunn Design · Rings · Techniques

Make something “Fun” with Fun Buttons & Nunn Design Earring & Ring Bezels

Light-hearted Jewelry made with Fun Buttons
Light-hearted Jewelry made with Fun Buttons

Fun buttons come with lots of images, many with light-hearted and fun designs. They are resin topped in a metal base with a built-in shank on the back. Checkout our selection, there is something for everyone!

I am a fan of science fiction so I chose the two sci-fi buttons to make a pair of earrings, and the flame for the ring, since I am a lamp-worker I decided I needed a ring to signify my passion!

To start with, these buttons have a self metal shank on the back, so I used my cutters to remove it, leveling the back. The edges that remain actually give the glue something more to hold onto.

Using styrafoam sheeting to keep it level.
Using styrofoam sheeting to keep it level.

I used Nunn Design Silicone Glue to affix the buttons into the earring and ring bezels. I prefer this glue over E-600o because it remains flexible due to having silicone instead of water in it, so over time it does not lose its hold. I also like to use a piece of sheet styrofoam to keep the bezels level while they dry as its easy to poke the ear-wires or ring bezels in to stabilize and level your piece.

 

Setup for keeping a ring level.
Setup for keeping a ring level.

I drizzle in the glue slowly, using a toothpick or the end of a paint brush to transfer small amounts at a time. Fill it enough but not too much, but with the silicone glue its easy to clean up with a baby wipe if there is spillage. Let it dry in a warm spot several hours or even over night and that’s it! Now you have a fun piece to wear and enjoy, or give as a gift or sell.

List of Supplies

Let me know if you have any questions and I’d love to see your creations! This technique can easily be used with all kinds of cabs and buttons so enjoy the process and have fun.

 

 

One thought on “Make something “Fun” with Fun Buttons & Nunn Design Earring & Ring Bezels

Leave a Reply

